Of Houses and Totems

This post is part of the 4th Annual Knit and Crochet Blog Week hosted by Eskimimi Makes.

Day 1 – The House Cup

I loved reading Harry Potter growing up, I was 11 when the first book was published and I spent the rest of the year waiting for an owl with an acceptance letter that never came. However, I do feel that I outgrew the series just a little (the massive amounts of hype may have accelerated the process), so when I saw that the first day of Knit and Crochet blog week was The House Cup, I had the tiniest bit of trouble mustering up as much enthusiasm as I was hoping to have. I looked over the four animals representing the four houses and the qualities they embodied, but didn’t feel like I particularly related to any one creature. Then I spotted this little paragraph:

“You could of course decide that you are so unlike any of these creatures in your style of crafting that you set up a rival faction and adopt your own house, though whether you get invited to the end of term disco remains to be seen, you rebel.”

Having recently come back from Lucidity Festival where all the main camps were represented by animal totems, and festival goers were encouraged to set up mini-camps representing their own totems as well (I spent my time living with the Tigers and the Cosmic Phoenix), the creative rebel in me was suddenly inspired to establish my own House and Totem for Knit and Crochet Blog Week.

So without further ado, I present the House of the Spider
20130417-110731.jpg
This is Frank. I hand-drew him, and now perhaps we see the reason why my main art mediums are yarn and dance 😉

Spiders are found all over the world and have learned to build webs to fit almost any environment. The House of the Spider is all about design, whether you like to create your designs from scratch or just tinker with existing patterns to add your own flavor.

I chose to be a Spider because from the very first pattern I knit, I could not resist making changes. Most of the time I only use patterns as a reference for how to achieve a certain effect, and just improvise most of my work. It also seemed appropriate to be a Design Spider this week, as I am currently working and getting ready to launch my own line of designs, patterns, and custom commissions; come back and check out tomorrow’s post for some of my behind the scenes design details!

2 thoughts on “Of Houses and Totems

Leave a Reply

