Of Squiggles and Dots

This post is part of the 4th Annual Knit and Crochet Blog Week hosted by Eskimimi Makes. To find other Knit and Crochet Blog Week posts, enter 4KCBWDAY3 into your favorite search engine.

Day 3 – Infographic

Today is about using infographics as a tool to share information in a novel way when blogging. I can’t say I’m a huge fan of infographics; they were fun when they first started popping up, but not everything has to be reduced to bite sized pieces of info with pretty clip art (can you tell I’m slightly allergic to hype?)

However, I’m a “try everything once, twice if you like it” sort of fairy, so I took a stab at making an infographic. I spent a few hours trying to decide what information I wanted to share in graphic form and playing around with some free online software to assemble graphical elements, and it just wasn’t doing it for me.

And I have to admit, I was slightly disappointed in myself; was it really so difficult to think up some facts about myself or my crafts and share it in a little chart or graph? But then I remembered that the whole point of the exercise was to experiment with using a visual medium to share information. So I went digging through my digital sketch book and pulled out these:

20130423-154043.jpg

20130423-154051.jpg

These are two different knitting patterns I improvised. The top one is for a simple seed stitch headband, and the bottom one is part of a larger pattern for a cotton bikini top. I’d been using crude sketches with dots and hash marks for years when trying to figure out how to place increases and decreases, or add or subtract pattern repeats, to help me visualize the stitches as I did the necessary math, but it never occurred to me to really explore the medium of drawing out a pattern until I bought a sketchbook app for my iPad. I started by simply taking written notes as I knit, but soon I was sketching increase placement and stitch patterns, and having a lot of fun making it it pretty! As most of my work is done by improvisation, and there is a lot of trial and error, drawing out a pattern stitch by stitch before I knit it allowed me to look ahead for potential problems and work out calculation errors in a visual manner. As you can see on the bikini pattern, I was incredibly pleased when everything worked out according to plan!

So far these sketches have just been for my own fun and note keeping, but eventually I want to publish a collection of patterns depicted entirely in this pictorial form!

Here is the headband pattern again, this time with notes on how to interpret it:

20130423-160319.jpg

2 thoughts on “Of Squiggles and Dots

Leave a Reply

