Of Finishing and Futures

This post is part of the 4th Annual Knit and Crochet Blog Week hosted by Eskimimi Makes. To find other Knit and Crochet Blog Week posts, enter 4KCBWDAY7 into your favorite search engine.

Day 7 – Looking Forward

It’s the last day of Knit and Crochet Blog Week – at least for this year! It’s been a fantastic week, the perfect way to launch myself back into keeping a regular blog. And it seems really fitting that today’s post topic is about looking forward to the future.

I see a lot happening with my crafting over the next year. By the time the next Knit and Crochet Blog Week begins, I expect to be writing about how I have just recently returned from another amazing Lucidity Festival, but this time as a small vendor who successfully sold/traded wings, dreamcatchers, and other fuzzy whimsical creations with her fellow Lucid Dreamers. Though I do find predicting the future to be a dicey business, the universe had made it abundantly clear that there is a plan and when I try to interfere my making too many of my own plans, things get a little chaotic.

But there are a few specific goals I hope to achieve before the start of next year’s Blog Week:

  • Learn to knit socks – I have been wanting to learn for ages, but I think I need to find the right needles before I can properly settle down and do it. I didn’t like the steel DPN’s I originally picked up 😦
  • Design a hat – there is actually a very specific hat I wish to design as a gift to some very dear friends of mine, and I think I finally have the proper tools I need to tackle this slightly ambitious project, but I don’t want to ruin any surprises yet!
  • Learn to spin – I got to borrow and try my great-aunt’s spinning wheel some months back, and I freaking loved it. I really don’t think I can afford a full-timing spinning hobby, but I am thinking of making my own drop spindle and learning some basic technique.

I think this should all be very achievable in a year’s time. In the near future I have some finished objects and soon to be finished objects that I’ve been working on over the course of Blog Week, and I’ll be experimenting with taking my photo taking techniques, so stay tuned for some experimentation!

Speaking of photos, Frank dropped by last night to hang out by my knitting chair 🙂
20130428-085226.jpg

2 thoughts on “Of Finishing and Futures

  1. Socks are easy. Seriously. Go for it.

    Wolf spider, right? Okay, I know they’re harmless but they. belong. out. side. Spouse would have been summoned to dispose of the beastie.

Leave a Reply

