It’s The Little Things

We’ve officially reached that point of autumn in my area where it may still be hot and summery during the day, but there are still noticeable changes that mark the turn of the seasons. I don’t have to get up quite as early to beat the sunrise. Nighttimes are starting to more consistently require long sleeves or a light jacket. There’s a few deciduous trees around DandyLion’s apartment that are losing their leaves. I’m a warm weather fairy myself, so this time of year tends to bring a certain desire to hunker down until winter passes, but it’s really hard to hunker down when its still in the high 80s during the day.

In place of hunkering down, I like to take some time to appreciate the little things in life. The other morning I found myself scribbling a list simply titled “Things I Love” for no other reason than I was feeling happy, and appreciative.

Things I Love

simple knitting projects that allow me to decompress

yerba mate tea

waking up early, smoking bowls, and writing

this song

burning incense and watching the smoke

Reading the list now, it feel like a poem, and I am projected back into the moment when I wrote the list. I think I should write more lists like this more often.

Leave a Reply

