Two

Sat Narayan Wahe Guru Hari Narayan Sat Nam

Look beyond this world to realize the infinite . . .

I stood in front of the mirror in my fire mentor’s back yard, practicing the new techniques, my muscles starting to complain at the unfamiliar motion. But anytime I fumbled a move, or got my fingers stuck in the fan, I kept staring at the girl in the glass, waiting for her to do the move again, smoothly. I had seen her do it before, and I expected her to do it again. And as I stared at her, my muscles moved, and her fans spun, and it looked perfect. And it felt perfect.

5 days earlier

I stook on the sand, back to the waves, friends and fire cicle laid out in front of me, and I readjusted my grip on the fire poi. I had never spun fire poi before, lit or unlit, but I was drunk on the night and in a flirty mood, so I seized the opportunity to introduce myself. It was only natural that we broke the ice quickly and I took the lead in our first clumsy dance. When I had safely seen them back to DandyLion, I scampered onto a rock and danced a little fairy rhumba, basking in the soft light of my namesake. All first dates should be this good.

4 in the morning today

I don’t really know why I’m up so early, my sleep seems to be a bit off normal, but I don’t really mind. It’s raining outside, which put a damper on my plans to go outside for morning practice, but that’s ok too. I spread my extra fluffy blanket on the floor and lay out to stretch, savoring the softness of the morning, the blanket, the sound of the rain.

Back to Table of Contents

Leave a Reply

