Three

It’s going to get worse before it gets better. That’s usually how it goes.

“Mama said there’d be days like this . . .”

She did actually, my mum did warn me that as I continue treating my chronic health problems, there will be days where it feels like I’m getting worse instead of better, there will be days my body is strong enough to eliminate built up toxins (which is good) but I’ll feel every one of those toxins as it processes out of my system (which is not so good).

. . . . . . .

“Just keep swimming, just keep swimming . . .”

I try to hear the phrase in the cartoon fish voice it deserves to be said in, but sometimes it just sounds like the gasp of someone on the precipice of drowning.

. . . . . . .

I forgot to use conditioner while I was in the shower. I’m trying really hard to make a proper meal for myself because good food sounds lovely right now, but I don’t have the energy or focus to do this easily or efficiently. I forgot to set the meat out to defrost, so I carried it with me into the bathroom, because that tiny room gets really hot with the globe vanity lights and a steamy shower running, so I figured that would help defrost the meat. It didn’t really. Maybe if I had showered for longer than 10 minutes. Maybe if I had remembered to put conditioner in my hair.

Back to Table of Contents

Leave a Reply

